JavaScript Basics: String Concatenation with Variables and Interpolation

Max N
2 min readDec 11, 2019

In JavaScript, we can assign strings to a variable and use concatenation to combine the variable to another string.

To concatenate a string, you add a plus sign+ between the strings or string variables you want to connect.

let myPet = 'seahorse';
console.log('My favorite animal is the ' + myPet + '.');
// My favorite animal is the seahorse.

Above, we created a variable myPet and assigned it “seahorse”. On the second line, we concatenated three strings: “My favorite animal is the “ (include the space at the end), the variable, and the period. The result is “My favorite animal is the seahorse.”

Using a single quote or a double quote doesn’t matter as long as your opening and closing quotes are the same. The one time it matters if you are using a word that has an apostrophe like “I’m”. It will be easier to use a double quote instead of using an escape character.

Another thing to take note of is when concatenating numbers and strings. When you concatenate a number with a string, the number becomes a string.

let myAge = 85;
console.log("I am " + myAge + " years old.");
// I am 85 years old.

Another way to include a variable to a string is through String Interpolation. In…

--

--

Max N

A writer that writes about JavaScript and Python to beginners. If you find my articles helpful, feel free to follow.